Workshop and Lecture Schedule 2019

Here is my complete workshop, lecture, and travel schedule for 2019. You can all view all of this information on my website under the category Events & Happenings.

JANUARY
Craft Napa 
Napa Valley, California
Friday January 11, 2019—Making Prints out of Solids—Lines & Shape
Saturday Janaury 12, 2019—Linear Blocks—Line into Shape (THREE SPOTS left.)
Sunday January 13, 2019—Circle & Curve Sampler

Visions Art Museum: Contemporary Quilts + Textiles
San Diego, California
The Pieced Canvas—Solo Exhibition
Opening Reception Friday
Exhibition Dates January 19—April 7, 2019

Road to California 
Ontario, California
Tuesday – Wednesday January 22-23—Making Prints out of Solids
Thursday January 24—Circle & Curve Sampler
Thursday Evening January 24—Artful Oven Mitts
Friday—Bits & Pieces: Designing from the Scrap Bag
Friday Evening—Roundabout Demonstration

To Agnes Martin, with Color is almost entirely composed of vintage fabric bits.

FEBRUARY
QuiltCon
Thursday February 21 – Sunday February 24
I will be running the SAQA booth. Please come by and see hello! 

MARCH
Quilted Straight
Port Gamble, Washington
Wednesday 27- Friday March 29—Making Prints out of Solids/Riffing on Tradition Mash Up

APRIL
SAQA Conference
San Jose, California
Thursday April 25 – Sunday April 28 These Hot Crossed Squares are all riffs on the traditional quilt block Crossed Square.

MAY
Genesee Valley Quiltfest 
Rochester, New York
Thursday May 30—Kitchen Sink Quilting: The ART of Making Do
Friday May 31—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks
Saturday June 1 Lecture—Patchwork to Artwork: Journey of an Alaskan Quiltmaker

JUNE
Kansas City Modern Quilt Guild
Kansas City, Missouri
Thursday June 13 Lecture—Patchwork to Artwork: Journey of an Alaskan Quiltmaker
Friday June 14—Circle & Curve Sampler

The Quilt Guild of Greater Houston 
Houston, Texas

Tuesday June 18th Lecture—Traditional, Art, Modern: Notes from the Field
Wednesday June 19th—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks

The Golden Triangle Quilt Guild 
Beaumont, Texas

Thursday June 20th Lecture TBD
Friday June 21—Workshop TBD
Saturday June 22—Workshop TBD

Crosstown Arts  (Tentative)
Memphis, Tennessee
Community Quilt Building Project
Wednesday June 26 – Friday June 28

McCarthy Solstice by Maria Shell and the Commuity Members of McCarthy, Alaska.

JULY
Quilter’s Affair
Sisters, Oregon
Tuesday July 9—Linear Blocks: Line into Shape
Wednesday July 10—Making Prints out of Solids: Line & Shape
Thursday July 11—Riffing on Tradition: Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks Friday July 12—Bits & Pieces: Designing from the Scrap Bag

True Confessions is made entirely from the contents of a $8.95 scraps bag purchased at the Stitchin’ Post in Sisters, Oregon.

AUGUST
American Quilter Society Quilt Week
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Wednesday August 21 –  Saturday August 24
Workshops TBD

Prairie Star Quilters Guild
St. Charles, Illinois
Monday August 26 Lecture—Traditional Art Modern—Notes from the Field
Monday August 26–Riffing on Tradition Exploring Design Elements with Quilt Blocks
Tuesday August 27 Lecture—TBD
Tuesday August 27 Art Applique

Circle and Curve Sampler is only the beginning of what you can do with improv curve piecing.

SEPTEMBER
Australia (Tentative)
I am going to be in New Zealand so I might as well hope on over to Australia before hand. If your guild, shop, or group is interested in having me teach or lecture, please email me at mariashell4atgmail.com

OCTOBER
New Zealand National Quilt Symposium
Auckland, New Zealand
Tuesday October 1 – Sunday October 6
Three Day Workshop—Making Prints out of Solids
Two Day Workshop—Blow It UP!

Hudson River Valley Art Workshops 
Greenville, New York

Monday October 21 – Friday October 2
Five Day Workship—TBD

International Quilt Festival (Tentative)
Houston, Texas
Sunday October 27 – Monday November 4, 2019

Tundra combines improv triangles with short row stripes in a beautiful palette. Both techniques are taught in the workshop Making Prints out of Solids.

And that is a wrap for 2019. If your guild, group, or shop is interested in having me teach for you in 2020, please contact me at mariashell4@gmail.com I would love to work with you!

This entry was published on October 23, 2018 at 10:00 AM. It’s filed under About Teaching, News And Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “Workshop and Lecture Schedule 2019

  1. Hi Maria I’ll be interested in how you like Road 2 CA….but it might be great with you there teaching all your great classes. Quite a schedule! See you at QuiltCon!!

    Like

  2. Tina Jackson on said:

    I will see you at Quilt Con and KCMQG!!!

    Like

  3. Get Stitchy with Sarah on said:

    Excited that your coming to Memphis to do a community quilt! I missed you last time you were here.

    Like

  4. promontoryranger on said:

    New Zealand! Australia? Woo-Hoo! You go, girl!

    Like

  5. Cindy Clark on said:

    I am very very interested in your workshops at the GVQF in Rochester. We live in MN, but coincidentally will be out in the area at the end of May for our 50th college reunion. Yeah!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: